Observing Orthanc

When I first heard of being able to buy Ettenmoors barter tokens and trade them in for armour for any class to use as cosmetics, I was over the moon. However upon spending a lot of gold and missing one more spirit stone the next update for the game arrived and this feature was removed. The one and only piece I REALLY wanted with a passion was the helm used for Minstrels, Lore-Masters and Rune-Keepers on the secondary armour set. While questing aside the Great River in Update 6 a lot of us quickly realised a lot of armour pieces have old armour sets for specific classes, or old Moria 50+ crafted sets with a little twist. This is a happy compromise I believe and the Helm I used here I am never going to tire of it, it’s by far my favourite cosmetic item ever and the more it is used in simple outfits the better as a lot of shoulder guards and cloaks will cover it up.

I personally preferred the outfit without the Shoulder piece but there was a part of me thinking ‘But that means I only have 2 pieces, have I gotten that lazy?’ So the screenshots below show the shoulder guards I liked with this the best, and it can be up to you whether you use them.

I finally got the helm I always wanted!

Head: Hat of the Concerned Elf [Quest reward – The Great River] ~Black~

Shoulder: Scorched Ox-hide Shoulderpads [Quest Reward] ~Black~

Chest: Exquisite Elven Dress [Mirkwood Reputation Barter or Lotro Store] ~Black~

Previous Post
Next Post
Leave a comment

4 Comments

  1. I have wanted this helm for so long as well. I think you needed something like rank 9 (or some outrageous number like that) to be able to barter for it before. I am over the moon happy they included it as a quest reward.

    You’ve made a wonderful combination with this helm. I love the black and white, just stunning. Well done🙂

    Reply
  2. I think the helm looks rather nice without shoulders!

    Reply
  3. I agree, the black and white combo looks great, and I like it better without shoulders too! I love how it trails down the back, really pretty.🙂

    Reply
  4. Very striking combination!! Congrats on getting what you have been after for so long. I’m keen to get to the River and see all these goodies. Still sitting at level 70 though…

    Reply

Leave a Reply

